This is us

Here we introduce you to our dedicated and diverse team who are passionate about promoting sexual and reproductive health, gender equality and fighting poverty and inequality around the world. We combine policy, communications, research and project management expertise. Through strategic partnerships and close collaboration with governments, civil society organisations and other stakeholders, we work to achieve sustainable change and implement programmes and projects in East Africa.

Find out more about the people behind the DSW who are working together for a fairer and healthier world in which young people in particular can realise their full potential.

Executive Team

The Executive Team is responsible for the day-to-day running of the Foundation within the framework of the Rules of Procedure. It is bound by the Foundation’s Statutes, the Rules of Procedure for the Board and the guidelines and instructions of the Board. The Executive Team, is accountable to the Board and reports on current business, projects, activities and finances.

Jan Kreutzberg

Executive Director

Telephone: +49 511 94373-0
Email: hannover@dsw.org

Angela Bähr

Deputy Executive Director | Director Projects & Programmes

Telephone: +49 511 94373-0
Email: hannover@dsw.org

Shari Kupilas

Officer to the Executive Team

Telephone: +49 511 94373-26
Email: shari.kupilas@dsw.org

Shane O’Halloran

Head of Digital Transformation & Business Development Unit

Telephone: +49 30 2400069-17
Email: shane.ohalloran@dsw.org

Executive Board

The Executive Board of DSW appoints the Executive Director and monitors their activities. Honorary members are elected for a period of three years.

Helmut Heinen

Chairperson of the Board of Deutsche Stiftung Weltbevölkerung (DSW), publisher of the Kölnische Rundschau

Dr. Andrea Fadani

Board member of Deutsche Stiftung Weltbevölkerung (DSW), Managing Director of the Fiat Panis Foundation

The Team

Management of the country offices & partner organisation

Feyera Assefa Abdissa

Country Director DSW Ethiopia

Telephone: +251 116457803
Email: dsw-ethiopiaat@ethionet.et

Peter Owaga

Country Director DSW Tanzania

Telephone: +255 27 2555020
Email: dsw-tz@habari.co.tz

Evelyn Samba

Country Director DSW Kenya

Telephone: +254 20 3572302
Email: info@dswkenya.org

Sarah Kintu

Executive Director Action 4 Health Uganda (Partner organisation)

Telephone: +256 414 200801
Email: info@a4huganda.org

Fundraising

Sina Rabe

Head of Fundraising Unit

Telephone: +49 511 94373-15
Email: sina.rabe@dsw.org

Carola Ahlborn-Schuklies

Fundraising Officer

Telephone: +49 511 94373-13
Email: carola.ahlborn@dsw.org

Anke Witte

Senior Fundraising Officer

Telephone: +49 511 94373-32
Email: anke.witte@dsw.org

Institutional Funding and Partnership

Ann-Christin Buck

Head of Institutional Funding & Partnership Unit

Telephone: +49 30 2400069-14
Email: ann-christin.buck@dsw.org

Dr. Matthias Epe

Senior Institutional Funding & Partnership Officer

Telephone: +49 30 2400069-26
Email: matthias.epe@dsw.org

Johanna Rosenwirth

Institutional Funding & Partnership Officer

Telephone: +49 511 94373-11
Email: johanna.rosenwirth@dsw.org

Communication

Nicole Langenbach

Head of Communication | Spokeswomen

Telephone: +49 511 94373-20
Email: nicole.langenbach@dsw.org

Elias Domsch

Communications Officer

Telephone: +49 30 2400069-19
Email: elias.domsch@dsw.org

Nils Hartung

Senior Communications Officer

Telephone: +49 511 94373-12
Email: nils.hartung@dsw.org

Marei Hückelheim

Communications Officer

Telephone: +49 511 94373-35
Email: marei.hueckelheim@dsw.org

Leigh-Ann Mc Sweeney

Communications Officer

Telephone: +49 511 94373-42 
Email: leigh-ann.mcsweeney@dsw.org

Projects & Programmes

Miriam Riechers

Head of Project Management Unit

Telephone: +49 511 94373-25
Email: miriam.riechers@dsw.org

Peter-Nicholas Kroll

Senior Project Management Officer

Telephone: +49 511 94373-16
Email: peter.kroll@dsw.org

Florian Paulus

Senior Project Management Officer

Telephone: +49 511 94373-27
E-Mail: florian.paulus@dsw.org

Advocacy Germany

Maren Jesaitis

Head of Advocacy Germany Unit | Head of Berlin Office

Telephone: +49 30 2400069-28
Email: maren.jesaitis@dsw.org

Christine Hassemer

Advocacy Officer Germany

Telephone: +49 30 2400069-20
Email: christine.hassemer@dsw.org

Tanja Siebenbrodt

Advocacy Officer Germany

Telephone: +49 30 2400069-15
Email: tanja.siebenbrodt@dsw.org

Mara Scherner

Advocacy Officer Global Health R&D Germany

Telephone: +49 30 2400069-12
Email: mara.scherner@dsw.org

Marlene Weck

Advocacy Officer SRHR
Germany

Telephone: +49 30 2400069-11
Email: marlene.weck@dsw.org

Ursel Zetzsche

Project and Office Management Officer

Telephone: +49 30 2400069-16
Email: ursel.zetsche@dsw.org

Advocacy Africa

Kate Tibone

Head of Strategic Advocacy Alliances

Telephone: + 32 2 50490-56
Email: kate.tibone@dsw.org

Advocacy EU

Lisa Görlitz

Head of Brussels Office | Head of Advocacy Unit, EU

Telephone: +32 2 50490–63
Email: lisa.goerlitz@dsw.org

Rosa Castro

Senior Advocacy Officer EU

Telephone: +32 2 50490–69
Email:  rosa.castro@dsw.org

Nitya George

Advocacy Officer EU

Telephone: +32 2 615 02 01
Email:  nitya.george@dsw.org

Gian Marco Grindatto 

Senior Advocacy Officer EU

Telephone: +32 2 50490–64
Email:  gianmarco.grindatto@dsw.org

Agustin Martín

Senior Advocacy Officer EU

Telephone: +32 2 50490–67
Email: agustin.martin@dsw.org

Steffie Neyens

Advocacy Officer EU

Telephone: +32 2 50490-65
Email: steffie.neyens@dsw.org

Sandrine Remy

Projects & Human Resources Officer

Telephone: +32 2 50490–60
Email: sandrine.remy@dsw.org

Ffion Storer Jones

Advocacy Officer EU

Telephone: +32 2 50490–62
Email: ffion.storerjones@dsw.org

Sylvia Githugu

Communciations Officer EU

Telephone: +32 2 50490–66
Email: sylvia.githugu@dsw.org

Giuseppe Martone

Communciations Officer EU

Telephone: +32 2 50490–66
Email: giuseppe.martone@dsw.org

Monitoring & Evaluation

Dörthe Müller

Head of Monitoring & Evaluation Unit

Telephone: +49 30 2400069-13
Email: doerthe.mueller@dsw.org

Gabriel Torres Molina

Monitoring & Evaluation Officer

Telephone: +49 30 2400069-25
Email: gabriel.torres@dsw.org

Lora Yousef

Senior Monitoring & Evaluation Officer

Telephone: +49 30 2400069–24
Email: lora.yousef@dsw.org

Human Resources & Administration

Jana Kristin Ottenberg

Head of Human Resources/Administration Unit

Telephone: +49 511 94373–34
Email: jana.ottenberg@dsw.org

Stephanie Althaus

Human Resources & Administration Officer

Telephone: +49 511 94373–36
Email: stephanie.althaus@dsw.org

Finance

Axel Urbanik

Head of Finance Unit

Telephone: +49 511 94373-40
Email: axel.urbanik@dsw.org

Elisabeth Bormann

Finance Officer

Telephone: +49 511 94373-24
Email: elisabeth.bormann@dsw.org

Berna Lule

Head of Finance Unit East Africa

Telephone: +49 511 94373-0
Email: berna.lule@dsw.org

Franziska Senf

Finance Officer

Telephone: +49 511 94373-29
Email: franziska.senf@dsw.org

Julia Ostermann

Finance Officer

Telephone: + 49 30 2400069-21
Email: julia.ostermann@dsw.org

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is an honorary body that appoints, counsels, supports and monitors the Executive Board.

Elmar Bingel

Chairperson of the Board of Trustees, auditor and tax consultant, healthcare expert

Renate Bähr

Chairperson of the Board of Trustees, former DSW Executive Director (2008-2020), expert on population dynamics, reproductive health and rights

Dirk Roßmann

Founder of DSW, company founder and author

Dr. Barbara Kloss-Quiroga

Medical doctor and senior consultant, expert in reproductive health and population dynamics

Dr. Anja Langenbucher

Europe Director of the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation

Barbara Lenz

Social entrepreneur

Klaus Brill

Former Vice President of Bayer Pharmaceuticals, family planning expert

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board is made up of recognised public figures who advise the Executive Board, the Board of Trustees and the Executive Team on professional matters on a voluntary basis.

Prof. Dr. Ernst U. v. Weizsäcker

Former Member of the German Parliament, former President of the Wuppertal Institute for Climate, Environment and Energy

Dr. Sara Seims

Advisor on international women’s rights & health issues

Prof. Dr. Klaus Töpfer

Former Member of the German Parliament, former Executive Director of the UN Environment Programme (UNEP), former Federal Minister.